remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Games night [Saturday, Apr. 24, 2004, 9:01 am]

Wow, I didn't write yesterday. This is the first time in a while that I've actually skipped a day. Oh well, no big deal.

We didn't have Awana last night. So instead, we had our 'homeschool game night' at our house. Usually we have it at the church, but I think it's much better here. I think it's kinda funny how we almost always divide ourselves up into our own age groups, without even trying. For the first part of the night, the parents were all downstairs talking & playing games, the teens were all up in our room playing a game, and the younger kids were running around outside (and occasionally inside) playing a very energetic game. Although towards the end we kinda mingled a bit more.

But us teens had fun. The first game we played was some Maine trivia game. I did good in the trivia part, but not the luck part, so I ended up being last. Then we played Balderdash, which is probably one of my favorite games ever.

Basically, one person selects a certain word from one of the cards. Most of the words are crazy-sounding, that none of us have ever heard before. And then everyone else has to write down a definition of the word, and hand them in. Then the person reads those, as well as the real definition, and then everyone has to guess which definition they think is the real one. It's a lot of fun. And I actually won that, but by the time it was over, we were all kinda tired of sitting down in that little room, so we went elsewhere and did other things.

Oh yeah, it was funny cuz yesterday I downloaded this Marx brothers screen saver and desktop theme, complete with sounds. And for some reason, my screensaver would come on and only go through once, and then come on again every 5 minutes. So every 5 minutes we'd hear Groucho's voice saying "Swordfish!", and then a few seconds of Chico playing the piano. And then the pictures show on the screen for a while, and at the end, Groucho would say "I'm going back into the closet, where men are empty overcoats." I think it kinda scared everyone the first time it came on, haha!

Yeah, anyway, towards the end of the night, I had some fun playing Twister. I really like that game. I'm not exactly flexible, but apparently I have long limbs, and that helps, cuz I won like 3 times. Brings back fond memories of the time we were having an Awana JV party, and I played Twister for about half an hour with my friend Henry, and finally beat him. It was extremely triumphant. Even now I don't know for sure if I actually beat him, or if he just decided to let me win. Either way, it was a lot of fun.

Well, today my dad wants to put some varnish on my bureau, since it's unfinished and we don't want the wood to get all scratched or anything. So I'm going to have to unload everything from the top (again), and unload all the clothes, and then we'll carry it down to the basement & put something on it. Fun.

Tata!

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009