remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Books, Red Sox, colleges, etc. [Thursday, Apr. 22, 2004, 7:25 pm]

Ginger snaps are yummy. Maybe it's a good thing I stay in my room so much, because it seems like whenever I come downstairs, I just have to grab one...or two.

Today I finished reading "The Hiding Place" by Corrie ten Boom, for the second time. I think it seemed even more powerful this time, maybe because I'm older now. It's definitely the most touching WW2 story I've heard so far. It's amazing how those two women could keep such a strong focus on God, even in a German extermination camp. It's also amazing how He protected them, despite all the hardships they went through while there. My favorite quote from the book:

"We must tell people what we have learned here. We must tell them that there is no pit so deep that He is not deeper still. They will listen to us...because we have been here."

Well, I'm listening. The most amazing thing is how they were able to forgive the German prison guards who hated them. I think it's a sad contrast to the kind of forgiveness we often try to give in this country at certain times. We can't even forgive someone for hurting our feelings, or slighting us. But they could forgive people who treated them as less than animals, for months on end.

I think that was the underlying message of the book. Forgiveness and love will always triumph over hatred in the end. Anyone who is consumed by hatred (like Hitler), may win for a time, but that time will always end. If you haven't read 'The hiding place', I definitely suggest you do.

Well, moving on to less important things, baseball season has started! I know, it actually started a few weeks ago, but it always takes me a little while to catch on. I actually used to be a much bigger Red Sox fan than I am now. I had a scrapbook, and I would cut every single box score out of the newspaper (along with as many pictures as I could fit) and glue them in there. I would have a whole lot of fun organizing it, and following their seasons. But I only did it for two years, and I then I guess I got tired of it.

But I'm still a fan. And I still keep hoping they'll win their first World Series since 1918. One thing that bothers me though, is that EVERY year, you hear Red Sox fans saying "This is their year! They're going all the way this year!" And they try to think of some secret way to break the 'curse of the bambino'. As far as I'm concerned, as long as we keep saying that, they're never going to do it. For once I'd just like to hear most people say, "This isn't their year", cuz that'd probably be the year they'd win.

Even Stephen King is writing a book about their season this year, cuz he's a big fan and he thinks this is their year too. *sigh*. I always hope it's 'their year', but something tells me it ain't going to happen this year. But we'll see.

Anyway, I got a phone call from my #2 college today, asking about whether I'd made a decision, and I basically decided that they could cancel my admission. Because they are definitely a great school, but they're about 10 hours away, and I've received more financial aid elsewhere. So now I've officially narrowed it down from 3 schools to 2. About time, isn't it? Still waiting to hear from #1.

I think I've pretty much figured out why wisdom teeth that have to come out are called 'impacted'. Because my mouth has been feeling a bit more 'impacted' than normal, yesterday & today. At the moment I'm honestly not dreading surgery, even though I'm sure I'll be nervous. Maybe a little pain and inconvenience can be a good thing because it helps me understand what good the surgery will be doing in the first place.

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009