remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Turn off the TV, and English books [Tuesday, Apr. 20, 2004, 6:44 pm]

My mom's New England Patriots dvd came in the mail today. But of course, she can't watch it cuz we're right in the middle of turn off the Tv week. Do you think she got any sympathy from us? NOT A BIT. I mean, we got out "Animal crackers" on a 5-day rental, and were only able to watch it for 2. So everyone's suffering around here, aren't we?

Well, just kidding about the suffering part. The week will be over soon enough, but it's really not that bad. At least there aren't any TV shows on that I'm ferociously devoted to.

I got an hour of computer time today, instead of half an hour, whoopee! I hate calling it 'computer time' though. Reminds me of the not-so-distant past when my parents tried to monitor how long I stayed on the computer every day, down to the minute. Ugh.

Well, today I finished "Great Expectations". It was veeeery long, but still good. I just wish the ending had been less vague. Cuz I really want to know if Pip and Estella got married. Not necessarily because I thought she was right for him, but just because I'm curious about things like that. Still, I think Estella is a very nice name. I'll have to keep it in mind, for when I have kids.

Hard to believe though, after I finish the book report on it, I'll be done highschool English forever! And, finally, just because I feel like it, I'm going to list the 12 classic foreign novels I had to read and report on for English this year, in order of which ones I enjoyed the most (those being on the top):

#1) The Scarlet Pimpernel, by Baroness Orczy

#2) Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte

#3) A Journey to the Center of the Earth, by Jules Verne

#4) The Time Machine, by H.G. Wells

#5) 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, by Jules Verne

#6) Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen

#7) Treasure Island, by Robert Louis Stevenson

#8) Great Expectations, by Charles Dickens

#9) Silas Marner, by George Eliot

#10) The Dragon and the Raven, by G.A. Henty

#11) The Hobbit, by J.R.R. Tolkien

#12) Ivanhoe, by Sir Walter Scott

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009