remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Awana, angels, dusting, and other stuff [2004-03-27, 9:24 a.m.]

Awana last night was pretty cool. We're studying the end times, and one thing mentioned was that demonic activity will become much more active during the Tribulation. Somehow that led us to talking about supernatural activity, and that led to a little bit of talk about angels. I don't know why, but I love hearing angel stories.

My dad told this one about these two missionaries who were carrying a suitcase full of Bibles into China, and as they were in the airport, their suitcase suddenly burst open and spilled Bibles all over the floor. So they quickly began picking them up, and as they did that, a big tall Chinese man came over to them wearing a big trench coat. And he stood there and held the coat open behind them, to shield them from view. So they worked quickly and as they turned around to say thank you to the man, they realized he was gone. They looked around for a large Chinese man but he was nowhere to be seen. The funny thing was, his shadow had been there the whole time they were working, which is why they never noticed him leaving. He had simply disappeared. That's incredible, I think. I also heard a story about people bringing Bibles into China, and their philosophy was, if God wants the Bibles there, He'll hide them. So they put them in the back of their trunk, and every time they went through a checkpoint, the guards would search their vehicle, and they never found anything, even though the Bibles were right there the whole time. Pretty amazing.

Awana seems to be more funny when Zack's there too. Sometimes, in the middle of a lesson, he'll just say something out of the blue, like, 'my nose hurts'. It's kinda weird. We were talking to him afterward and I mentioned that I don't like soda, and he gave me this really funny look, so I was laughing and told him why. He's like, "Yeah, I'm the next Jim Carrey, it's just that the world doesn't know it yet." I'll believe it.

Anyway, yesterday I decided it was time to totally rearrange my bureau (most people call them dressers, I think). So I took all my things off it, dusted them, then dusted the bureau, and then rearranged everything on it again. All that dust was making me cough, and when I got done with the dust cloth, there was hardly a white section on it. It looks SO much better now though. Beforehand, I would just kinda plop stuff on my bureau-top when I couldn't find any other place to put it. So I'll need to work on that if I want it to continue to look neat.

Oh yeah, yesterday, I actually did 60 sit-ups; go me! I've worked up the rate to 20, 3 times a day, so I'll keep doing that next week. And I haven't missed a day so far.

And...I don't think I mentioned this, but I'd talked to my friend Ian who was home on break from college, and he had said he wanted to hang out with me this week. So I IMed him yesterday (since it's kinda late in the week), and asked him about it. He said he wouldn't be able to cuz he's been so busy, but he was sorry. And so was I; that's a real bummer. I haven't seen him since his highschool graduation, and who knows if or when I'll be able to see him again, cuz he's working with a missions team this summer. But college students are very busy, even during break time. At least it seems that way, because another friend, Henry, was home on break a few weeks ago, and was in our Sunday school class. Zack was like, "You need to shave,". He said, "Yeah, it's on my to-do list." Kinda scary, but I guess they've got a lot going on. That's something I'm totally not used to though, cuz I very rarely have 'a lot going on'. *sigh*. Well, that was kinda long. Hope it made some sense.

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009