remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Snow today, and list-making [2004-03-21, 1:44 p.m.]

When I woke up this morning, everything outside was covered in snow. And yesterday was the first day of Spring. What kind of cruel joke is that? But fortunately, the sun has been out all day, and we've got some serious melting going on. For those who don't know, Springtime in Maine is often affectionately refered to as "Mud season", because that's what happens when all the snow decides to melt. And when we often get snow as late as April, there's usually a lot of snow to be melted.

The snow we just got is pretty sticky - good for snowballs and the like. In fact, after church today I saw one of the women in our church (one of my Sunday School teachers, to be exact) throwing snowballs at someone. It was pretty funny. Speaking of Sunday School, I really like the study we're doing right now. Basically, we're looking at Jesus's disciples, but the main point is to present them as real human beings, just like us. One good point that was made is that it's easy for us to look down on the disciples for not getting all the things Jesus was trying to tell them. Because nowadays, we can sit with our Bibles and read stories over and over to figure out what they mean. But for the disciples, everything was happening in real time. They had to respond to things right as they happened.

By the way, I've added a 'Baker's Dozen' thing (last entry) that I found at another diary. I don't know why, but I just really like making lists. And keeping track of things. These things aren't on this diary, but I have a list of every single cd and dvd I have, and I've started to keep track of everything that happens to my money (spendings and earnings). I actually enjoy making packing lists whenever I go on trips. I've already made a list of things I don't have now that I might need for college. And, I even calculated approximately how much of my own money that I have spent on cd's. Using old records of cd's I've bought through BMG music club, and remembering the approximate costs of others, I've figured out that I've spent an average of only $4.25 per cd. Of course, those cd's that have been given to me helped bring that total down, and I buy most of my cd's at half-price through BMG.

I know, it's kinda sad. But I just really like keeping track of things like that. For no reason really. Although someday I'll be able to look back and realize why homeschooling is so cool: Plenty of free time to do important things like that.

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009