remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Awana, and story excerpt [2004-03-19, 10:05 p.m.]

Wow, this'll be my fourth entry today. But I've been online a lot, and I like to hang around here when I have nothing better to do. Tonight at Awana we had "Pastor Appreciation Night". It was pretty cool. I'm really glad we have such a caring, down-to-earth Pastor. A lot of the younger clubs made cards for him & stuff. One of the leaders was pretty funny - he got up front and said, "Well, we had a lot to say, so we made a list," and he pulls out this piece of paper about the size of a postage stamp.

Then we decided to give him something kinda interesting. See, according to Becky (his wife, also one of our Varsity leaders), there's an inside joke in their family about 'recycyling' cards. There was a card that was given to them and they decided to cross out what it said ('Happy anniversary'), write a new message ('Happy birthday') and send it to a relative. So that went back and forth for quite a while.

It was Becky's birthday and we had given her a card that said "Happy Birthday Becky" on it. So we crossed that part out and then wrote "Happy Pastor Appreciation Day" on it, and gave it to him. He got the joke of course, and thought it was pretty funny too. I have a feeling she'll be getting it back for their Anniversary, or something like that.

Anyway, I tried to add another diaryrings page, but I've noticed a bunch of them seem to want to spill out of the entry table. I really don't know why; maybe it's just because it's too small. But I don't know what to do about it, so for now it'll just have to look weird, I guess.

I realized that as of next month (or maybe as of May), I'll have had my driver's permit for a whole year. And I still have only 17.58 stinkin' hours out of the 35 I need. I think at least one reason is because our car is usually only available on weekends. All other times (when my dad has it at work), we travel in our big 15-passenger van. No way am I driving that thing! It's hard to maneuver, especially in parking lots, and I'd probably crash it (or scratch someone else). I dunno, I really do want to get my license before I'm 18. And it's not that I'm necessarily afraid to drive - I'll do it if I have to. But I guess I'm just not all that eager either.

Anyway, I worked a little bit more tonight on that story I'm writing. And just because I feel like it, I'm going to leave you with a little excerpt from it:

"Persy was quiet for a moment, and stared at the grains on the wooden table in front of her. There seemed to be only one answer that she could give truthfully.

�Going to school would be a big change in my life. I really don�t think I�m ready for a change like that.�

�Now, Persy, do you really want to stay here and be a shepherdess for the rest of your life?� asked her aunt.

She thought for a moment before answering. �Yes. I don�t know what else I�d do! I know �isolated� life like this seems methodical to you, but it�s the only life I know. My father built this house for me. He even lived here himself, for a time. My mother is buried out behind the house. And I love the mountain, the forests, and the valley. I can�t just go off and leave; this is my home!�

Mr. Murray was a bit taken aback. Apparently he had never seen any side of Persy, other than her daily, stoic appearance. Her emotional side was different.

�Well, you see Persy,� he responded, �there�s certainly nothing wrong with loving your home, that is a very good thing. But be realistic. There comes a time to grow up. Do you really think you�ll be able to live here forever? There are other, more reliable ways for a young woman to make a living, as long as she has the proper education. You could become a teacher. Or perhaps a governess - there�s always a demand for those.�

Persy felt her face growing hot. Why were they so insistent? �Thank you for the offer, Mr. Murray,� she replied calmly, remembering her manners, �but I�m not made to be a teacher or a governess. If I remain stuck in this house being a shepherdess for the rest of my life, then so be it. But I know I could never survive cooped up in a stuffy old school for weeks on end!� Aunt Penny seemed to send her a disapproving look, and replied, �We�ll see how things turn out.�

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009