remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Essay woes [2004-03-10, 12:07 p.m.]

I have three scholarship applications due by March 15th. Which means I should finish them by Friday. *sigh* I want to be a writer - does that mean I have to enjoy/be good at writing essays to? Cuz I'm not. The first two I'm working on are basically just asking me to describe myself, my background, my educational plans, etc. One of them also asks me to describe service I've done for my family and community.

It's just hard to think of what to say. What am I supposed to say about sevice? "Um, I change diapers, make lunch for a family of 8 (weekdays), babysit younger siblings, help clean up my little brother when he makes messes, clean all the toilets once a week, etc." Yeah, that might win me a home economics scholarship or something.

Another hard thing is to relate what my career plans are. "Um, I want to be a writer because I like sitting around daydreaming and thinking up stories in my free time. But I'd also like to be a homemaker cuz I've had so much training in that area. Sorry, I'm not aiming to be the first female president, or trying to 'further the advances of women' by entering a male-dominated field."

Oh well, honesty is what counts, right? Don't worry, my essays aren't that stupid, it's just that sometimes I don't know what to say or how to say it. But I'm sure that's normal. I also have to do another essay (which I've started) about what friendship means to me. It's funny, when I hear that, certain things come to mind. Like having someone there for you, and earning the trust of another person. It's not that I don't know the value of friendship, but I don't know exactly how to turn all those thoughts into an essay.

It's certainly an annoying process. But from what I hear, I'm not alone. No matter how much other people I know love writing, essays often annoy them too. Friday will be busy though. I should have those 3 essays done, ready to turn in, plus I'm aiming to take anatomy and latin tests on that day, and we're going to that ballet. And the sad thing is, compared to most people, I don't really know the meaning of the word 'busy' yet.

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009