remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

non-interesting personal matters, etc. [2004-03-08, 12:16 p.m.]

Grr, I hate wearing glasses. I'm starting to get those little red marks by my eyes, which are annoying. I've had glasses for about 3 years, but only wore them to see things far away, like at a movie theater, etc. But a little while ago I realized that I really should be wearing them every day. It got to the point where I'd have trouble recognizing people without them. Now the only thing I don't use them for is reading.

I'm hoping to get contacts soon. Hopefully they won't irritate my eyes or anything, cuz my mom said she wore them for a few years but then had to stop. And, this might sound a bit weird, but I'm actually thinking that if I get contacts, maybe I could get them tinted. Like some unnatural color like lavender. I know my parents would never let me, as if it would hurt them in any way, but I still think it would be cool. It's not like I'd be trying to hide anything about myself, cuz obviously no one had lavender eyes. Oh well. I have a feeling I wouldn't actually end up doing it, at least not this time. But it would be cool, nonetheless.

I seem to have inherited my mom's vision though, which means my eyes are only going to get weaker, and I'll be needing to get new perscriptions for the rest of my life. Myopia is no fun. I heard something kinda interesting though, about Red Sox shortstop Nomar Garciaparra. From what I read, he doesn't do ANY reading at all, and he stays away from just about anything involving that, because he doesn't want his eyes to get weaker from looking at things up close that way. I think that's a bit extreme. I love reading and going on the computer, and if nearsightedness and wearing corrective lenses is the price I have to pay for it, then so be it.

Along the lines of looks & such: I really need a haircut. I seriously haven't had my hair cut since July 2002 (over a year and a half). I actually want to grow my hair out, just to see how long it will get, but gee, everyone needs a trim occasionally. Cuz my ends don't stay together at all, which just kinda gives my hair a scraggly appearance. My mom said maybe I could get it done somewhere - that'd be cool! I can remember only two times that I've ever had my hair cut by someone other than my mom, one of them being July 2002. No offense to my mom, but, um, I'd kinda like a professional to do it this time too. I think it'd be cool to get it cut in different lengths too. I know getting it cut at home saves money & all; and I'm sure the males in this family are fine with that arrangement, but - I just think I've outgrown it.

So, aside from all that stuff - my dad boiled down the first of our maple syrup yesterday! We don't have a whole lot, probably less than half a gallon. But it tasted good. The only thing I don't like about it is that it's very thin, rather than syrupy. I mean, when you pour syrup on your pancakes, it's supposed to slowly drizzle over the whole stack and slowly soak into them. But the stuff we make pours out like water, and just soaks right into the pancakes, although it does taste better. I know, I know, extremely minor issue. But maybe we're just not boiling it down far enough.

Oh, at the True Love Waits thing on Friday, they made an announcement about JamFest, but the guy said the featured band would be Tree63, which is contrary to what I heard before. It's not a major problem though, cuz I love both Tree63 and Everyday Sunday, plus I've seen them both before. So we'll see who actually ends up playing. But it's on May 29th, so I guess some things are still kinda up in the air.

Well, I've yakked long enough, tata!

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009