remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Verification is annoying [2004-03-05, 12:19 p.m.]

Last night I was a bit surprised (and more than a bit annoyed) to get a letter from Messiah college, telling me my FAFSA application has been randomly selected for verification by the federal government. Blah! See, when they first sent me some financial aid info, they sent a verification worksheet. I thought that meant I'd been selected so I filled it out almost all the way. But then I e-mailed them to make sure, because I wasn't quite clear on the intstructions. They replied, and told me everyone got one of those worksheets, but they were only included in case we needed them, and we would be specifically notified if we were selected for verification.

Oh good, I thought, that means I haven't been selected. Wrong, as I found out yesterday. For those who have no idea what verification is, it basically means the Federal government wants to go over the Financial aid applications of some prospective students to make sure their tax amounts were all correct, & so on. So basically, we have to send in signed copies of all 2003 tax returns, and fill out the worksheet.

But thankfully, the Messiah worksheet only had a little bit more to be filled in, and when my dad got home last evening, he said it wouldn't be too difficult to print out copies of our tax returns and sign them. So we did that, and the ones to be sent to Messiah are all ready to go. Phew! At first I was afraid this would be some huge process that would greatly slow down the financial aid process and mean I would get less than usual. But we're mailing it out today, so hopefully it won't slow anything down.

But I still have to print out 2 more copies of our tax returns to send to the other 2 colleges I've applied to, as well as filling out 2 more verification worksheets. As Ricky would said, "Ay yi yi." Oh well. I don't like paperwork that much, but this one girl in my youth group, who is applying to the same colleges I am, as well as others, said, "Filling out college applications is like the hardest thing I've ever done!" Um, yeah, it was hard, but not THAT hard! So I don't feel quite so bad now.

Anyway. I applied heat to my jaw last night. Didn't work. And I took an Aleve pill. I really ddn't like taking medication for anything unless I really need to, like if I'm in pain or something, but my mom and the doctor said it was fine. I think the Aleve would help relax the muscles, because the doctor thought muscle tension might be playing a part in my 'jaw problem' too. But the problem hasn't gone away. I can still only open my mouth halfway. Apparently, the next step is to try to get an appointment with a dentist or something, which usually takes a while to schedule. *sigh*. We'll see what happens.

Tonight, our youth group is going to a "True love waits" thing, which we also went to last year. It was a lot of fun, because there's a lot to do. Like swimming, concerts, basketball, food, etc. Hopefully I'll find something fun. Last year my friend Henry was there, so I could at least have an intelligent conversation with someone when I was bored. But now he's in college and I'll be the oldest kid there. Scary. Although 2 friends I haven't hung out with in a while (and who don't come to our youth group) are gonna be there, so it shouldn't be too bad.

Well, I shall go now. We've got some sick kids here, and I should really be watching them. (Hope I don't catch it too!)

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009