remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Loooong night last night, but fun too [2004-02-08, 1:38 p.m.]

*yawn* Well, be thankful if YOU got more than 3 hours of sleep last night, unlike me. 30-hour famine was turned into quite an adventure last night! My 'fast' was really only about 15 hours, but still, if I ever get to something like this again, I really want to do the fasting part. I agree with something that was brought up during the Bible study we did before we started: here in America, our stomachs are a lot like spoiled children. That's definitely a fact for me. Like when Paul talked about beating your body to make it a slave - most of us don't even come close to that when it comes to our appetites.

Now, I know I'm not obese or anything, but just because I'm not doesn't mean I don't have a problem with self-discipline. I think too often, when people are pointing the finger at others who eat too much, it's always the 'large' people who get singled out. And I think that's kinda sad. Just because I'm not 'large' doesn't mean I have any less of a problem with self-discipline when it comes to food. Definitely one of the many things I need to be working on now.

Well, I'm happy to say that, all total, our group collected about $1,000 for World Vision! I think that's awesome, considering there were only about 20 of us, and a good majority of the kids involved aren't even high-school age yet.

Anyway, after that, my FAVE indie band in the whole world, Ephesus53, gave us our own private concert!! It was really cool! And then the guys from the band did a 'comedy central' presentation, in general, it was hilarious!

The first thing they did was kinda mean. I mean, it was funny, but it's not the kind of thing I'd want done to me. But what they did was ask for a volunteer. Note to self: never volunteer for anything Doug & Dan are putting on! Fortunately, I didn't have to learn that the hard way! (I'm generally not the 'volunteering' type). Zack was the one who volunteered. Not smart.

When he got up there, Dan told him he had to pretend to be an olympic weight-lifter, lifting something very heavy. So he did it, and then Dan told him to do it again and make it more realistic; as in, make it look like he was straining himself. And when he was in his most 'strained' position, Dan pushed some button in his pocket that made a farting sound. Oh my word, it was gross! But everyone got a laugh out of it, and Zack got a foot-long tootsie roll for participating (still not worth it, if you ask me). By the way, Zack was sporting his cool new key chain last night, which says, "I'm not weird, I'm gifted." Gee, I need one like that ;-)

But after that, the guys from the band, Dan, Doug, Jeff, and John got on stage and had to pretend they were all attending a party, and each one had to act out a different 'problem'. One person went out of the room while they explained to us all what their problems were going to be, and then the person had to guess what they were doing after they came back in. It was really funny; Doug was schitzophrenic: he'd give someone a hug and then pick up something to hit them with, and then try to restrain himself with his other hand, it was great. Jeff was constipated - not too original, but I think he did a good job, especially his mad dash to the bathroom in the middle of the 'party'. John had to be someone with severe ADD. He'd be like, "Hey Karen...whoa, is that a new stove? This is cool...hey, what kind of car is that?" And then Dan, the craziest of them all, did his 'special Dan' routine. (basically, he pretends to be mentally challanged; funny stuff).

So that was amusing. I won't bother describe everything else they did cuz that would take forever, and nobody wants to sit here all day reading this!

Anyway, we played games and watched movies far into the night. I watched 2 episodes of the Beverly Hillbillies...that's a hilarious show! TV shows were just better back then, even though they were black & white. No language, no sexual humor, usually family-friendly, ya know? I ended up going to bed (the older girls slept in the nursery, yay!) sometime around 2 am, I believe, and of course, couldn't get to sleep for a while. The rest of the girls came in around 4 am, and then turned on the Lion King. But I was still able to fall asleep not too long after that. And then of course, we had to get up around 7:30 and get all our stuff packed & out of the way since that room had to be used for sunday school.

So I will DEFINITELY be taking a nap this afternoon! But it was a fun time :-) And I don't think anyone fell asleep in church either!

Well, I suppose I should go now - others are in line for the computer.

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009