remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

New year's eve, job applications, and crying over RotK [2004-01-01, 8:46 p.m.]

Wow, I had a lot of fun last night! I hope everyone had a fun and safe New Year's Eve! Our youth group had a great time at the retreat! Mostly we just played games, wrote things for the 'mighty message box', and other stuff. A few of the games were really fun. Obviously I'm not going to describe every single one of them - that would take hours, and nobody wants to do that much reading, I'm sure. But here's how one of them went: In the dining room, we formed a circle of chairs. Basically, a guy would stand behind every chair, and a girl would sit down in them, except for one chair. Then all the guys would have to look down (at the girl in his chair) and keep his arms at his sides, except for the guy behind the chair no one was in. He had to wink at some girl, and that girl had to then escape from her chair without the guy tagging her. If she did it successfully, she would sit in the empty chair and the chair she left would become the new empty one and the guy behind it would have to wink at someone, and so on. The hard part was trying to tell if you're really being winked at or not, so I hesitated the first few times, and of course got caught. But I eventually escaped that possessive guy ;-) After a while, we switched places and the guys had to sit in the chairs while the girls did the winking and tagging. It was quite interesting. One funny thing I noticed was that after the guys started trying to 'escape' from the chairs they were in, they often ended up bringing the chairs with them, and/or knocking them over on their way out. Just rather interesting how guys & girls play things differently - guys have little regard for safety or the fragility of chairs ;-) But then, that's what makes it fun to play with them!

Anyway, I didn't get to bed until about 2 am. Fortunately, the director let us sleep in until 8:30, so we weren't total zombies when we woke up. We left around 10, and then after lunch, me, my dad, and Timmy went into town, and I picked up job applications from Michael's, Pac Sun, Old Navy, and Barnes & Noble. The only one I was able to submit at the time was the Michael's one. The others will take some more work, and I might need to get a worker's permit too, which I really should have attended to beforehand. Oh well. I'll get them filled out as soon as I can.

After THAT, we went to catch a RotK matinee! Only the second time I've seen it - wow, I'm really behind, aren't I? ;-) The funny thing is, this time it seemed to affect me a whole lot more. See, the first time I saw it, I did choke up a bit, but then, I really don't cry over movies, so that was a big deal. But this time, at the part where Arwen is leaving with the other elves and then sees her son, and what her life could be like...it actually made me cry. And then again when the Rohirrim are charging during the battle of Minas Tirith. And then when Sam said to Frodo, "I can't carry it for you. But I can carry you!" Heck, I almost cried over the lighting of the beacons too! But I have 2 clear ideas as to why this one seemed to affect me more. The main one is that the first time I saw it, I was in a more critical mood. As in "That's not quite how they did it in the book", or "hmmm, I think they could have done that differently". But this time I already knew what was going to happen. Plus I was operating on not very much sleep, and I always tend to be more emotional when I'm tired.

Anyway, I'm glad I got that figured out ;-) It's a great movie though. If it doesn't win best picture, well, I'm going to have issues with a bunch of people! Only like, 8 more months until it comes out on video *sigh*.

Well, I suppose that is all for tonight. It's very sad to think that tomorrow is the last weekday before vacation :-/ But we have Awana, so that'll be cool. Goodnight all!

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009