remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

My Travel Log [Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004, 2:50 pm]

Today, out of sheer boredom, I decided to think back over my life and write down a list of all of the famous, interesting, or notable places I've been to - here's the list of what I've remembered so far (family photo albums have been a great help in remembering):

European places (I visited all of these places while I was between the ages of 5 and 10):

Scotland (which was where my family lived for 5 years):
-Arbrooth Abbey
-Bannockburn Memorial
-Barrie's Birthplace (James Barrie, author of "Peter Pan")
-Blair Castle
-Castle Fraser
-Deep Sea World
-Dunfermline Abbey
-Dunnottar Castle
-Dryburgh Abbey
-Edinburgh Castle
-Edinburgh Zoo
-Edzell Castle
-Glamis Castle
-Glasgow (birthplace of the great Billy Boyd!)
-The Isle of Coll
-The Isle of Skye
-Loch Awe
-Loch Ness
-Perth
-Scone Palace
-Stirling Castle

England:
-Hamley's toy store shop
-Harrod's department shop
-Jorvik (York) Viking Centre
-London
-Natural History Museum
-The Tower of London

Wales

Belgium:
-Bruges

France:
-The Arch of Triumph (L'Arc de triumphe)
-The Eiffel Tower
-Notre Dame
-Paris

Switzerland:
-The Alps (a few of them, anyway)

Germany:
-The Anne Frank house
-Neuschwanstein Castle

Austria:
-A few of the places in Salzburg where the Sound of Music was filmed (the stairs that the children & Maria stood on while they were singing, as well as the arch they ran through, and a few water fountains).

Holland:
-Amsterdam

Leichtenstein

North American Places (these were all from when I was between the ages of 10 and...however old I am when you read this):

Canada

Maine (where I now live):
-Boothbay Harbor
-Delorme Mapping Co., home of Eartha, the world's largest globe
-The Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain House
-The Maine State Museum
-Owl's head lighthouse
-Pemaquid lighthouse
-The Portland Museum of Art

Pennsylvania:
-The Betsy Ross House
-The Crayola Crayon factory
-Hershey Park
-Independence Hall
-The Liberty Bell
-The Philadelphia mint

Massachusetts:
-The Boston Aquarium
-The Boston Museum of Science
-The Charlestown Navy Yard, & USS Constitution
-Faneuil Hall
-Fenway Park
-The Old North Church
-The Paul Revere House
-Plymouth Plantation
-Plymouth Rock
-Quincy Market
-Salem

Washington DC:
-The Viet Nam Memorial
-The Washington Memorial
-The Lincoln Memorial

Florida (actually, I was only 4 when I went to Florida):
-Disney World
-Busch Gardens

Maybe this is why I'm always so nostalgic, and have such an appreciation for history. Now all I have to do is visit Hobbiton, and my life will be complete. *wink*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009