remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Advice from me [Tuesday, Jan. 25, 2005, 5:22 pm]

No, I'm not trying to be Ann Landers or anything. I've just been thinking about mistakes in general - we all make them, even though most days it seems like I make about 50% more than everyone else. So, out of my grand stores of wisdom [sarcasm], I'll share a few of the things that I have learned the hard way, and hopefully someone will learn from them - or at least get a chuckle.

*If a gas pump has a brown paper bag over it, it probably isn't working right.

*Driving test instructors are apparently prohibited from smiling.

*Wearing wet oven mitts when removing things from the oven can be very painful.

*Softballs were improperly named.

*Stairs and other surfaces have a much greater chance of being slippery when covered with ice.

*When taking the SAT, don't just assume you're ahead of the clock - don't stop working on a section of the test unless it clearly says "STOP" at the bottom of the page. Missing even one little reading passage can have a large impact on your score.

*Never sit on the bottom bleacher when viewing an intense or otherwise potentially injurious teenage sporting event.

*Most school desks have a particular side of the aisle in which they are meant to be entered from. Getting in the other side is very difficult.

*When your parents say, "don't touch that electric fence or you'll get a shock," don't touch it.

*Never tell people they look Elvish unless you're absolutely certain that they'll take it as a compliment.

I'm sure there will be MANY more to come, after they happen, or after I think of them.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009