remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Cats [Wednesday, Sept. 09, 2009, 7:48 pm]

So I got a leash for my cat at Pet Co. Or some other similar store that specializes in pet supplies. That part isn't important. Well, it's more than a leash. It's basically a harness with a leash attached, because something tells me that a simple collar would be too easy to get out of.

I've discovered that you really can't just take cats on "walks." The few times we've gone out have become mere territorial romps - he wants to poke his nose into every bit of flora and fauna, and then chew on it, and keep going forever and ever. Also, cats don't obey commands. They really don't even acknowledge them. Even lovey-dovey requests have very little merit with him. Eventually it ends with me scooping him up and carrying him, writhing and meowing, back up to the third-floor apartment.

I'm kind of embarrassed for any adults to see me out there with a cat on a leash. A few kids have seen us so far and enjoyed petting him. Somehow they just tend to be more open-minded about these things.

Okay one more cat story and I'm done. He almost escaped again this weekend. My sister had him out on the balcony, and he was leaning over the edge, as he normally does, and as she stood up it startled him, and he fell over the edge. Fortunately, there's a roof above the doorway that he landed on, about on par with the second-floor balconies. So he jumped back and forth between other people's balconies and the roof (no one else was around). We ended up bringing a mushroom chair down to the ground and holding it up toward him. Eventually he just jumped into it and kinda catapulted down to the ground. We must have looked so ridiculous...

Oh cats. The things we do for them... look stupid, vacuum cat hair, scoop their poop, buy food, dishes, stupid little toys, sticky hair rollers, etc. etc. And what do we get in return? Hmmmm.... the feeling that when he rubs his little head against me and purrs... perhaps there's something like love in the gesture.

Perhaps...

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

An unlikely turn of events... - Tuesday, Mar. 22, 2011
I'm okay - Saturday, Jan. 23, 2010
It was a beautiful letdown - Monday, Nov. 30, 2009
The meaning of hate - Sunday, Oct. 25, 2009
Writing - Sunday, Oct. 11, 2009