remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Not all who wander are losers [Saturday, Apr. 25, 2009, 7:27 pm]

I should update.
Not only because I should, but because I want to. Of course that would lead me to then haggle over a topic, but one just hit me as the imdb.com page was loading. Bea Arthur has died. Quite sad - I mean, sad that anyone dies, but every so often I'll see a celebrity death that actually means something to me. I've watched a lot of the Golden Girls, and I really loved the humor. It's one of the few "girly shows" that I can not only tolerate, but enjoy.

The character of Dorothy is probably my favorite, because she has such a quick wit and a way with sarcasm, but at the same time she's a loving, caring friend. I think it's important to have a balance there, even moreso in real life. Having a sense of humor is almost vital, and knowing how to use it correctly can be very difficult. We all need someone to remind us not to be too serious, but to also be there as a comfort after the sarcasm wears off. It seems we live in very cynical age when we'd rather just use humor to deflect problems than actually deal with them.

So RIP Bea Arthur. You'll always be Dorothy to me.

In other news, nothing is happening. Well, that's not true. I'm learning a lot about following, and trust, and not leaning on my own understanding. And that it's okay to take baby steps... sometimes it feels like that's all I'm doing, but it's better than sitting around making excuses for not taking steps at all, I suppose, although I still do too much of that.

I want to walk a lot this summer. To find trails I never knew existed, and photograph as much of the rocky coast as I can. I want to climb mountains and bike roads I used to drive by too quickly to ever really see. I don't want to be important, I want to experience importance in things that don't always display it. Here's hoping.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009