remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Cubicalized [Thursday, May. 29, 2008, 9:07 pm]

I have a job!

It's something I interviewed for last Friday, and on Tuesday I got a call saying someone else had been selected. Which didn't surprise me, but I thought that position looked good and I kinda wanted it.
But a few hours later I got the call saying that the other candidate backed out, so I got it :-)

Right now I'm just a temp, but it's certainly better than nothing. I even get my own workspace and computer, which is awesome. I know, to most people that might not be exciting, and as a long-time Dilbert-reader, I wonder if my own cublicle is something I really don't want... but I like it for now :-) The other "real" jobs I've had have been communal space - cashiering, baking, sorting mail... it feels more personal now.

I'm working at MNET Mortgage. I can probably say what I do, just not too many details. Right now I'm learning about loan files - sorting through them, organizing them, learning to recognize documents. It was overwhelming at first, but I picked up on a lot the first day, and I think I'll get the hang of it in not too long. It's very OCD-friendly, which is nice ;-)

Technically I'm actually working for the staffing center - I work at MNET for 90 days, and they decide whether or not to hire me permanently. Fingers crossed! I'm just going to work hard and see where that takes me.
I'm even allowed to wear nice jeans there... I only have a few pairs of nice jeans, but still, I like the relaxed atmosphere...

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009