remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The end of all things... well, some of them [Tuesday, May. 06, 2008, 7:14 pm]

I wrote over 8 pages for my 12-to-15-page paper today. I'm pretty impressed - but it didn't even feel like work. Anna Karenina is a novel that I feel I identify with even more now that I've (almost) read it a second time. Tolstoy has a poignant sense of honesty sometimes, when talking about basic matters of life, such as death, marriage, faith, love... He's one of my favorite authors, methinks. I'll probably put War & Peace on my summer reading list (somewhere after the other 20 or so books already on it).

On a random note, I've decided that if I ever have a son, my ideal name for him would be Leonardo - Leo for short. Not only does it mean "lion," but it's also the same name as certain historical figures I admire - Da Vinci as well as Tolstoy. Plus it's not a very common name. There are many other boy names that I like, but are already in use by everyone and their brother. I shall strive for uniqueness.

So... I'm graduating on Saturday. My friend Manda keeps telling me that, and I usually respond with something like, "I don't know what you're talking about." I'm really not in denial, I just... I dunno... don't think about it. These last two weeks have been great - I've had 30 pages of papers to do this week, but I still feel like things have been gradually winding down, academically, as each thing gets turned in. I don't know why finishing 2 portfolios and 4 papers in 2 weeks seems less stressful than my average week doing journalism as well, but I guess I just respond differently to different types of stress. By the way, if anyone wants to read any of the articles I've written this year, they're on the newspaper website:

http://www.usmfreepress.org/user/index.cfm?event=displayAuthorProfile&authorid=2707170

I think the two most recent were my most enjoyable ones - I got to be all "investigative" about interesting topics.

Anyway, I've had the chance to hang out and go to fun things with friends lately - I'm just savoring the experience, and, you know, thinking about stuff. I'm not nervous right now (at least not yet), and for that I'm glad. I'm also glad to be finishing strong - there are times I've felt like slacking off, but this last paper is going to be one of my best this year, I can tell, and it's good to know that senioritis didn't hit me too hard (this week anyway).

There are certainly things I would have done differently - if I had it to do over again, I would have double-majored in something more specifically career-oriented as well. And I might have studied abroad too, although the transfer helped screw up my chances of that. All things considered though, I've had a wonderful time - I've probably learned as much outside the classroom as I have inside it - I'm just SO glad I made the choice to come live at school and get out of my comfort zone. It wasn't easy, and I'm still working on it to some degree, but I've had such memorable times here... this is a time of life I'll never get back, and I'm very glad I chose to spend it in a dorm community like this while I had the chance.

Now as long as I move on and get a job somehow, things should progress. But I'm not going to worry. I'm going to enjoy my last savory days of college life...

Oh by the way - Iron Man is a great movie - highly entertaining and funny. Mucho endorsements.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009