remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Behind the scenes of an escapade [Saturday, Dec. 01, 2007, 9:54 pm]

I'm an idiot sometimes. In other news, we had a most fun birthday party at work today, which my friend Manda went to great lengths to make successful, and so of course, I was her mostly-willing partner in crime :-D

So, Thursday night we went to Hannaford for groceries, and when we arrived at the check-out, I realized that, genius that I was, I'd left my wallet back in the room. Ordinarily I would never do something so foolish, but I had removed it from my purse previously and carried it around in my backpack because I was afraid I was going to run out of money for printing while in Portland. And of course, I forgot to put it back. So Manda, being the amazingness that she is, got my 4 items for me and I paid her back. But of course, this meant that we were technically buying our things "together." And one of her items was a bottle of raspberry Smirnoff for the guy, since it was his 21st. AND, apparently when two people are "together" buying alcohol, the store policy is to card both of them. And of course, I didn't have my wallet with me.

It was just very ironic, because we're both 21, and neither of us were even going to drink the stuff anyway, but we still couldn't buy it because I couldn't produce a license (which by the way, is an excuse I'm sure they've heard a million times anyway). But we didn't make a big deal about it, because we totally understand the policy. I've been a cashier, so I realize it's important to card everyone. So, we bought everything else, went back to the dorm to put it away, and then went back to buy the Smirnoff because he'd saved it for us. I just went right up to him and showed my ID when we got there, and then as Manda was digging through her bag I told her she had BETTER have remembered hers... but all was good and things went according to plan until the next day at work...

So her plan for the surprise was to take the cake out of its hiding place at an appointed time, put the candles in, light them, and bring them into the mail room and sing. So I follow her as we go upstairs (which involves going around outside in the cold so the birthday boy won't see us), then we bring everything down and we're right outside the outer door, getting things ready. Just as she's about to take the cover off the cake and stick the candles in, the friggin FIRE ALARM goes off... so we scramble about... she carries the cake under her jacket (it wasn't that big), we run in and grab our bags, items, etc., and exit the building.

We sit in our boss's van for a few minutes to get out of the cold (there were 6 or 7 of us total, so it was cramped quarters), and finally we get to go in again. They go into the mail room, we go out back, and she sets up the cake and puts all the candles in. And then the lighter won't work... but fortunately one of the other workers is locked out, and we're able to ask him for a light, and he had one, and lit them all for us! Then I go into the mail room to make sure people are ready... friggin birthday boy is nowhere in sight... he's chatting in the hallway, so they call him in there, and I go out and tell Manda to come (the room is rather large)... I hit the lights... she walks in with a beautiful chocolate cake with champagne candles glowing in the dark, and we all start singing. Despite all the obstacles, it was picture-perfect at the end.

I'm not certain yet what our next criminal activity will be, but I'm sure I will volunteer for sidekick position yet again :-D

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009