remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Through the trees [Tuesday, Aug. 28, 2007, 10:14 pm]

Has it really been nine days since I last updated? It doesn't feel like it. Probably because I typed something out a few days ago and decided not to post it because it got a little confusing and was never quite finished. An adequate metaphor for many aspects of my life, no?

Anyway. Less than a week before I go back to school. I don't work tomorrow, and thus I only have 3 days left to work at the store before I'll be done for a while. Maybe forever for all I know. It will definitely be hard to say goodbye.

Once again, I did something I didn't want to do, and found out it really wasn't that bad after I got used to it. It's amazing how much more of a connection I feel to the other employees and customers now that I've had the chance to work the registers instead of just hiding in the kitchen and making whoopie pies.

So here's the plan: I'm taking 16.5 credit hours this semester. Five English classes. I know, probably not a good idea. Lots of reading. I've ordered over 20 books already. I'm working maybe 11 or 12 hours at the mail room, but I won't be able to pay all my tuition on that and still be able to eat on weekends and drive, so I'm hoping to get a position at the library, for two reasons: 1), I would really like some experience in that area, so I can reconsider whether library science is something I could/should pursue in the future, and 2), it seems to be one of the only departments open nights and weekends, which I'll need since I've got classes, work, and other stuff most of the other time. So if I can get 2 more nights of work per week, I think I can make ends meet. For this semester anyway.

Assuming I make it through to Christmas alive, I will either see if the grandparents are planning to contribute something for the next semester, or borrow from a college loan fund my great-aunt has. Obviously I'll continue to work.

So I'm really really hoping that by the time I graduate in May (hopefully!), I'll have found an apartment somewhere - ideally with a roommate, like a college friend or something. But we'll see.
And a decent job would be nice too. Oh, to make $10 or more per hour...

I've thought about becoming a paralegal after school. Not just because the title sounds cooler than just "secretary." I think it would be good experience. Obviously I'll have to research it and bust my butt applying to places, but it's an idea anyway.

Oh well. I'm just trying to get things organized in my head. Things will progress one step at a time, and so that's how I'll take them. By the end of the summer I'll have made almost $3,500, which I think is pretty good for a low-paying job like that - so there's my first step right now.

The cook at my work is so laid-back, and while I always used to (internally) freak out when we'd get bombarded by orders, she always kept her cool, and eventually I got better at it too. She told me that the only way to do it is to focus on one thing at a time, and as the list diminishes, it gets easier.

I guess the same approach can be used toward life too. Here I am looking at graduation and next summer, etc. And that's not a bad thing, because I can't just put the future on the back burner and never plan for it, but ultimately I have to look at the next thing in line, instead of wasting my energy trying to write my future before it happens. Sometimes I can't see the trees for the forest. Sometimes I can't see the forest through all of the trees. But if I'm going through the woods anyway, I might as well look at them individually, without getting totally lost.

That's all for now. Only a few more days. I need to pack, but as long as I have a good list, that won't take too long.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009