remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The last of summer... and videos [Sunday, Aug. 19, 2007, 5:16 pm]

It seems every time the weather changes, I get a cold - or at least a semi-cold. I mean, technically it's not autumn yet, but it's just now starting to feel slightly chilly at night, and I've been sneezing up a storm lately - it's so annoying.

I read somewhere that the average person blows their nose something like 256 times per year. Yeah right... for me it's more like that many times per month.

So I have like 2 more weeks at home before I go back to school. In some ways I'm eager to get back there, because I feel like I don't have enough motivation right now, here at home. But it's kinda sad at the same time because, if my plans work out the way I'd like them to, this will be my last long stretch of living at home, minus winter break, etc. As well as my last few weeks at the store, unless I get a few hours during break in January.

It's sad because, even though on some level I feel overdue to get out and find a place of my own, I will definitely miss being a kid... and not having to worry about all the big details that parents always take care of. I will miss working at my job - at a Christian family-owned small-town place like that, with such nice people.

On some level though, it will be refreshing to be truly busy again, even if I'll have to work 20 hours a week just to pay tuition. I feel like it's way too easy to get into a rut living at home like this, no matter how many hours I work.

During these last few weeks, I'm going to try to get back into shape, and be more mindful of snacking and all those evil things. I've pretty much decided that when I get back to school I'm going to only have frozen yogurt instead of ice cream. The cafeteria has great soft-serve frozen yogurt, and Ben & Jerry's has a few really good flavors of it. I'll survive.

I also have yet to play tennis this summer. If I can find a time when either my brother or sister and I are both available, and there's daylight outside and gas in the car...

Hmmmm... anyway. I'll throw some videos on here now, for the heck of it. First off is a very rudimentary video made by a bunch of 8 and 10-year-old boys (two of whom happen to be little brothers). It's kinda cute, for that level anyway.

And then... I was so happy to see this on youtube. It was a song I had the...er...privilege? of seeing at Camp Berea this year. It's called "brain fart." Yeah...maybe you just had to be there.

And lastly, the lovely Vitas - I like this song because it's sad, especially the part of him singing in front of the fiery wall. It's also interesting how much can be inferred from a music video, even if it's in Russian.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009