remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Legal drinking age [Sunday, Aug. 05, 2007, 7:59 pm]

For once in my life I was actually too tired to bother turning my computer on, and so when I logged in today to see a whole bunch of e-mails from facebook and myspace notifying me that people had written things on my profile, I was at a loss for a second - then I remembered, oh yeah, yesterday was my birthday.

My actual birthday wasn't all that exciting. I got up at 5:50 so I could shower before work, then worked for 8 hours on my feet. Fortunately I was cashiering and not in the kitchen the whole time, because it was pretty hot.

After I got out, I went home to get ready then headed off with my brother to play in our church's softball team's double-header. I caught for both games. I'm certainly not the best player, but if me being behind the plate means that the good fielders are all out where they belong, then it works for me.

We lost the first game by 2 or 3 runs, which is actually good because that was a team that could probably have pounded us harder than that, but we kept up with them. In one particular inning, I had the misfortune of making both the first and third outs. Well, somebody's gotta do it, right? However, I later scored a run which I hadn't done all season, so I was happy about that. Obviously I'm not much of a hitter either, but I would like to improve if I get a chance to play again.

We won our second game by one, so it was nice to split it - that was only our second win of the season. So it was a fun night, but by the end of the day my legs were shot... Not only did I slide and take a bounced pitch off my knee, but I'm so bad I can't even throw very far over-handed when I'm on my knees, so I had to stand to throw it back to the pitcher each time. I'm sure glad I had today off work...

One thing I've noticed, however, is that I love keeping the score book. Maybe it fits with my detail-orientedness, but I really enjoy having to watch the game closely and keep track of all the little things that happen. Somehow I find it fun.

So yeah, I'm 21 now. Hard to believe. I guess there's no more wiggle room anymore - I'm an adult. I can buy beer and guns and cigarettes, and gamble, and enter sweepstakes, and get sent to jail instead of juvenile hall, and visit bars, night clubs, and adult bookstores - wow, what else is there? It's really sad when those kinds of things are the most advertised advantages of reaching this age... surely there must be something more exciting that no one's told me about yet.

Oh yeah, that's right... I guess I'm officially an old maid now too ;-) I've also noticed that I look forward to birthdays less, but it's okay. I still had a good "party" of sorts, the night before. I had cake and moose tracks ice cream, and got some more chocolate from people. Thanks for helping with my resolution to get back into shape this summer! Ah well... I've yet to play tennis too. Maybe if my sister and brother would stop going off to camp every other week ;-)

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009