remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

A little commiseration never hurt anyone [Saturday, Jul. 21, 2007, 7:43 pm]

Over time I have come to the concluding opinion that, no matter how rich they are, it would be a great benefit to everyone to spend at least some small portion of their general life (or just teenagerhood) employed in retail and/or food service.

The reason being, these are the kinds of jobs that are often looked down upon by those with "better" ones, and yet these are services that just about everyone benefits from very often. And some people are just so insensitive to what it's like to be in the position of a cashier, food worker, waiter/waitress, etc. And yes, occasionally the negative stereotypes associated with these kinds of positions are justified, but it's unfortunate that some people can't find it in themselves to just be polite to people all the time, instead of acting like they're the center of the universe, treating certain ones as if they were robots with no feelings.

Maybe if everyone had to learn to do the responsibilities associated with these kinds of jobs at some point, they'd have a little more sympathy for those who don't always do things the exact way they want them to - who have to work like fury when things get busy, and still try to do everything "right" - who often have to be on their feet for long hours at a time, and still be friendly and smiley to people who treat them like garbage.

But then, maybe people are insensitive to workers like this just because they got the same treatment at that point in their lives, and so don't feel bad about repeating it. Whatever - that's their problem. Personally, I'd be pretty much the biggest hypocrite in the world if I couldn't forgive a little mistake here and there, considering I've certainly made my share in just about every department. Please do your duty and slap me if I ever start acting like I'm somehow "better" than the person who makes my sandwich for me...

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009