remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Homeschooling [Sunday, Jun. 24, 2007, 10:05 pm]

This weekend has been pretty good. A graduation party for two people at my church (one of them being my sister), the actual graduation of said people, and the visit of several relatives for a few days.

I think anyone who still questions the effectiveness of homeschooling needs to stop by one of these graduations sometime and hear the stories and the things parents say to their kids during the ceremony - that's how it works here. It's very much a family thing, because that's how homeschooling is.

And that, I think, is the most important part of any education - people. I certainly hope I never come across as some kind of homeschool elitist, and I certainly don't think that homeschooling is the only way to go, or even necessarily the "best" way, depending on the situation. But from what I've seen, all the kids who come out of high school as mature and well-disciplined individuals have one thing in common: involved parents. Regardless of the method of schooling, be it public, private, or at home, the children whose parents are invested in their education seem to be the ones who really learn the most.

And you certainly don't have to be homeschooled to get that benefit. As much as I love and support homeschooling, I don't think it has to be seen as the cure-all for education - the real factor is good parenting, and that can't be overlooked. I just think that with public schooling, it can be harder for parents to have the same level of involvement - but it definitely can be done, and there are often different benefits for children who successfully go that educational route.

The real key is that the parents are still the ones raising the children - that they're not just handing them off to the government's systems and expecting them to get all their learning that way, without lifting a finger themselves. That happens all too often, and it makes me sad, because parents are missing out on so much when they're not the ones to teach their children. That's why I feel it's so important for families to be "teachable" - to teach their children all the time, regardless of what kind of formal schooling they have - to see education as something that has potential all the time - not just in a classroom. That, and parental love and involvement, are what I believe to be some of the keys to a good educational system - and I feel that even though it's not for everyone, homeschooling was the right way for me to experience those things, and it's something I really want to be involved with further someday.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009