remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Another year, booked [Friday, Apr. 20, 2007, 6:27 pm]

So today I was posting some mail from one of our departments, and I happened to notice a letter addressed to Stephen King. Yes, THE Stephen King. He lives in Bangor, and I'd be willing to give you his full address for a mere $10, paypal or check only. I'm kidding of course; I wouldn't actually do that - but I did think that was pretty interesting.

The past two days (or so) are kind of jumbled. I hate it when I recall a certain event, and then can't remember whether it happened today, yesterday, or the day before. I'm immensely glad to be done with room selection though. See, there were plenty of people I would love to have roomed with, but they all had roommates selected already, or were otherwise unavailable as roommates for next year. There was a chance I might end up with either of two girls I knew who were going for singles, but they decided to room together, so I just ended up with two of my friends from the mail room, hanging out and waiting for everything to start.

Basically, I randomly met up with a girl there who was also roommate-less, and she asked if I wanted to room with her, so after a few seconds of discussion I decided to go for it, and so we were able to get our priority numbers calculated together, and choose ahead of a bunch of other people (otherwise I would have had to choose nearer to the end). It happened pretty quickly, but it's better than being stuck with a freshman I'd never met. I wouldn't have worried so much about that while on the substance-free floor, but I'll be moving to Robie Hall which is a "wet dorm," so things will be different.

We talked for a bit afterwards, and things should go fine. I think we're kinda different on some level, but we're also both very considerate, like my current roommate and I, so living together should be no problem as long as we're open about things. My current roommate was able to get a single on a designated "quiet floor" for next year, so I'm glad for her, since she doesn't like how noisy the people on this floor can be.

And the best part is that four of my other friends got rooms on the same floor as me, so I think things will be great. I went with one of them after work to check out the floor, and it looks so amazing - the building was the first dorm built here, back in the late 1800's. It's brick on the outside, and there are wood floors and classic wooden stairways - it just has such a historical, almost antique feeling to it, which I think I'll enjoy - I'll have to post photos at some point. I'm just glad I'll be around good friends, instead of moving into a place with no friends like I did at the beginning of last semester.

So now all I have to worry about is finals, and summer work - but these things will be taken care of in their own time, so I will resist the urge to worry.


wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009