remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Sonnet [Sunday, Apr. 15, 2007, 12:04 am]

My first real sonnet was written tonight. I haven't decided what to call it yet. Maybe I'll just title it numerically, "Sonnet 1" like all those famous poets do.

Why is it, still, beneath these ancient trees,
I hear your voice the way it was before? -
When all the earth was lofty as a breeze,
Your heart untainted by the open door
Which threw you into the world, with good intentions;
Manifested far too early on
For you to understand their true dimensions,
Or capture back the innocence that's gone.
If only you would talk with me again.
Speak like you did the night I saw you last.
No manufactured boundaries stopped us then.
We reveled in the present and the past.
I long to help, but now I have no charms.
I would cradle you, if you didn't flee my arms.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009