remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

What I'm getting myself into [Thursday, Apr. 12, 2007, 12:27 am]

Well, summer is still up in the air, room selection is wavering between two different options, but at least registration for next Fall is all taken care of. Here's what my schedule will most likely look like:

Monday:

ENG 315 - Ancient Literature
ENG 325 - Medieval Epic & Romance

Tuesday:

ENG 330 - History of the English Language
RHF 101 - Tennis
ENG 300 - Fiction Writing

Wednesday:

ENG 315 - Ancient Literature
ENG 325 - Medieval Epic & Romance
ENG 303 - Poetry Workshop

Thursday:

ENG 330 - History of the English Language
RHF 101 - Tennis

Friday:

Work-study!

Hopefully I'll still be in the mail room next year as well - I've enjoyed it so far, and I like the people. So yeah, five English classes - it's crunch time. I know there's a whole summer between then and now, but I have a feeling it will come up faster than I expect.

The tennis thing is one of those 1.5 credit fitness classes. It looks like I need a minimum of 16.5 credits per semester to graduate on time, so that's what it'll have to be. Hopefully that will be a fun way to pick up the extra.

I like my new adviser. She's very laid-back, and didn't ask me anything about career goals right up-front, so that's something I like. I think when she does, I'll be more willing to listen, since she seems more concerned about me figuring out my goals for myself - I think that's a good thing.

Moving back to "the now" - today I attended my first real poetry reading with my class, in Portland's seven-story library. Several classmates actually had five minutes to read, but I opted not to because I'd never been to anything like that before, and what with my natural stage-fright... yeah, I felt it would be better to just watch. But after the people had left, I practiced getting up there and reading one poem to my class, and they said I did pretty well the second time. I have a tendency to rush when I'm nervous, just to get it over with. Hopefully if something like this comes up again, I'll be more comfortable with actually getting up there for a few minutes.

Poetry definitely has so many more dimensions than what's written on the page. I've experienced that in a new way this semester, for sure. And I'm pretty much in awe of the professors I've been able to spend time with. Right now my professor is Annie Finch, who's pretty well established. And next semester's poetry workshop is being taught by Maine's Poet Laureate, Betsy Sholl (who I believe is a Christian). It's exciting stuff. I need to make the most of this while I have it. It will be no fun looking back and wishing.

Hmmmm, I should get to bed if I'm not going to work on my boring paper. I'll have a lot of homework this weekend - I guess I have to focus on this before I can think too much about next semester.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009