remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Road trip...of sorts [Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006, 8:26 pm]

Well, hello again :-)
I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas! We had over 20 people at our house for the day, which was nice, and not too chaotic, considering the most violent present this year was a unicycle for my 10-year-old brother, and as far as I know, no one has been run over yet.

And yes, I did get Pirates 2 on dvd as well :-D It was funny because my dad got a couple movies for the family and one of them was Pirates 2. I was pretending to be all bummed out because I would be at college most of the time and would thus be forced to buy one of my own in order to properly enjoy the Pirates saga... but a few presents later I received a copy of my own from the parents, and it was the 2-disc special edition at that :-)

That night we watched "Superman Returns" again. That Superman guy...wow. We then watched most of Pirates 2 and I almost fell asleep due to tiredness, but I waited until the end of the 3-way swordfight before going to bed.

Bright and early the next day (well, around 9:30), my mom, two younger sisters, and I departed for a vacation of sorts to visit my mom's side of the family (my dad's side has been over here a lot lately). It was an almost 10-hour drive to Pennsylvania, and unlike when my dad drives, my mom wanted those of us with licenses to take turns at the wheel.

I got the 4-hour "Connecticut through New Jersey" shift, and I'm glad to say I made it through Hartford alive. I also caught a pretty sweet glimpse of the NYC skyline, and that's about as close as I'd ever care to come to it with myself at the wheel. I don't think I'd ever driven on a highway with more than 3 lanes before that, but it was good to have the experience.

We easily spent 30 hours in the van during the 5-day trip, but it was worth it to get to visit so many cool relatives again - some of whom I hadn't seen in over 10 years. I got to understand my mom's family line a little bit better - there were a bunch of people that I knew I was somehow related to, but now it's nice to know exactly how I'm related to them.

So it was a great trip, and it was nice to do something that I'll be able to look back on someday.

Everyone changes so much. And it seems like a lot has gone on in terms of money, tuition, and career thoughts in the last few weeks as well. While I'm still somewhat confused and worried about the little things, and how everything will work out in the end, I need to realize that everyone makes it through somehow. Not everyone knows exactly how they got the jobs they have now, but God will take care of those who trust him. I don't need to know exactly what I'm going to do when I graduate. I just need to get a good education, good experience, and then go for what I think I would be good at. And maybe I should stop setting my expectations at ground level while I'm at it.

Apparently I have a new roommate already, and I don't see her on facebook. Maybe I should call her...

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009