remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Nothing stays the same [Thursday, Dec. 07, 2006, 7:51 pm]

So my roommate is moving out at the end of the semester. I'm glad to know it has nothing to do with me, but I'll miss her. We were awake until past 3 a.m. last night just talking about stuff. That doesn't happen very often at all, but it's cool when it does.

Things will be different. She owns the TV, so no more Forensic Files or random Friends marathons for now. Yes, I'm ashamed to admit that I've watched several episodes of Friends and not been completely turned off by it. Matthew Perry is actually quite funny.

So I'm a little anxious to see how things will pan out. I'm assuming I'll probably end up with a new roommate before the next semester starts, most likely a transfer student. The only two things I don't want to happen would be to end up with a horrible, inconsiderate roommate, or to end up alone. On some level I would like to have my own room, but overall I know it wouldn't be good for me, because I'm sure I would end up isolating myself too much. Plus I can't really afford the extra 200-300 $$ it would take to ensure a single.

I'm not even sure I want to stay on this floor next year. I've been told (not quite seriously) that it's somewhat dysfunctional, and that makes sense. I just don't know where else I'd go unless I specifically wanted to live with someone else. And if it's just the cliques and the noise that I'm tired of, maybe I should rise above it instead of running away. A lot will depend on what happens after the ending of the semester.

Speaking of which - finals. Right now I have roughly 3.5 papers to write, a story to severely revise, and a math exam to get ready for. I can do it. The trick is to avoid getting distracted by iTunes. I reloaded it onto my computer after I got the hard drive replaced, and this time I added a bunch of songs from CD's too. I have over 700 songs on there right now and I would have well over 1,000 if I'd added all the songs I own - so far I've only added the ones I really like.

I've also downloaded a bunch of clips from www.moviewavs.com. Then I added some of them to the computer's sounds. Now whenever I turn on my computer it plays a clip from "Life is a highway" by Rascal Flatts, and when I shut it down I hear the "Remember, remember" poem from "V for Vendetta." It's pretty sweet.

I'm realizing this entry is a stark contrast to my last one. It had to happen. The academic portions of my brain have been temporarily diverted from most internet activities for the next week or so. I'll survive. And then . . . Christmas! I'm excited :-)

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009