remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Hi, I'm broke [Monday, Oct. 30, 2006, 9:51 pm]

I'm hoping my computer is finally fixed. Right now it's sitting at Best Buy's "geek squad" area, but as soon as I get my paycheck this week, I'll be able to afford to pick it up. It has a nice new hard drive now, so I'm hoping things will be back to normal, finally. I'm kinda relieved. It was a hassle, but somehow I wanted it to be a huge problem like that, because if the solution wasn't huge, I would really doubt it would fix the issues I'd been having.

Yeah, I'm definitely a broke college student these days. I can't afford a Halloween costume. I could barely afford to fix my laptop. I can't afford an ipod, digital camera, discounted Soulfest ticket, or designer clothes, but ya know, life is good.

Life would be so boring if I was rich and could have anything I wanted. Because no one ever gets everything they want anyway. Common sense is priceless.

Speaking of which, get this. The guy at Best Buy offered to re-install Windows on my laptop for something like $100. I was thinking, "yeah, and I could do that at home with my own CD for free in what, 20 minutes?" The labor alone wouldn't even cost that much. So yeah - I'm not the brightest person alive, but I'm glad I know enough about computers to save myself a little money here & there.

I was a little apprehensive about the poetry I submitted for class a few weeks ago, and yet the personal one I was so guarded about seemed to be well-liked, and if not completely understood by everyone, at least respected for what it was - which is all I was hoping for.

And yet I'm still apprehensive about the fiction submission. I was going to submit a story based on real events (that began as a protected xanga entry), but I decided it was a little too personal, and I found myself unable to deviate from how it happened in real life - so I decided it wasn't the best choice. So I'm going to do that "Fourth of July" thing I wrote a year or 2 ago, I just need to expand it a little, because 3 pages is kinda short. I'm just going to feel a little - different. Everyone else's stories involve some kind of action or dialog, and more than one character. Mine is just so brooding, internal, and observational - will it even count? I guess I'll find out. That's what school is for though - you learn things like this.

Alrighty then. I hope that whoever chooses to celebrate it has a happy and safe Halloween. Just remember where the true power comes from...

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009