remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

No pipe bombs at USM [Wednesday, Oct. 04, 2006, 11:38 pm]

I remember way back in the dim, dark past, I used to think college students were mature. That in order to do something so prestigious as college work, a person must have passed at least some kind of maturity test, and was so close to an adult that the only difference was that college students looked younger than people like my parents.

I was wrong.

Some college students are capable of being very dumb, childish, reckless, immature, and downright cruel. I'm glad I've been able to work through some of my earlier stereyotypical ideas since preschool.

We've had 2 bomb threats in 2 days. My campus was only evacuated once, but it was still annoying. At least I wasn't in the shower at the time, like one guy was. . .

I heard a rumor that the threats had something to do with the blood drives that were going on, but I really don't see the connection there.

Come on people, junior high was over a long time ago - and that goes for much more than just dumb stunts like that.

I heard that people do things like that to create fear. Something along the lines of "don't worry, people only do things like this to make you afraid." Maybe they do, but I think the even greater danger comes in when we stop being afraid. That's exactly what some people want.

I mean, in this case I'm assuming it was just a stunt, but in more serious instances, I think threats often work by attempting to numb people to fear, and thus make them even more vulnerable to its dangers. Maybe a healthy dose of fear isn't such a bad thing.

Well, at least my residence hall hasn't had any fire drills yet, and I'm hoping it will stay that way.

Oh, and I found out I'm inelligible to donate blood. Apparently they won't accept it from anyone who's lived in Britain during the early 1990's, so that rules out the majority of my family. Something to do with mad cow disease, I guess? Yeah, I really hope I don't have that either.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009