remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

My living tombstone [Sunday, Aug. 27, 2006, 4:13 pm]

I don't know if I mentioned this little idea of mine before or not. Either way, it's turned into a poem, so . . . go ahead and laugh, but I really think it makes sense. The authorities would probably make a big fuss over it though.

When my soul has left my chest
Do not embalm me like the rest
Do not cremate my lone remains
And scatter the ashes every which-way

Do not enclose this body in a box
With metal hinges and sturdy locks
Do not use walls to hinder decay
Soon enough, nature will have its way

If food for worms, my body will be
Why take up space in a cemetery?
Why mark my grave with solemn granite
When something living can grow upon it?

When I am dead, just dig a hole
It's only for a body, not for my soul
Bury it as naturally as can be
And there in the dirt-cover, plant a tree

When life is gone, I will aid the living
In subtle ways, my body still giving
All that remains to the growing tree
From covered death, into life all can see

And when these branches give you shade
And serve to shield you from the rain
Just tell yourself that it is me
Still loving you from inside a tree

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009