remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Film, concerts, and being 20 [Sunday, Aug. 06, 2006, 1:59 pm]

I'm 20. And at this point, I really don't like saying that, or even acknowledging it. I think 20 sounds so much more adultish than 18 ever did. The one advantage is that now I can make disparaging comments about teenagers without sounding like a hypocrite.

Camping was fun. Ah yes. Sunburn, duct tape band-aids, rain and mud, showers that are so far away and yucky that by the time you take one and get back to the campsite you wonder if you really ended up any cleaner than before, lots of sore muscles from walking and jumping around, etc. etc.

But I'll save most of it for my photo update. I still have to get my 3 rolls of film developed, and I'm too cheap to drop them off at a one-hour place. YES I STILL USE FILM. So shoot me. Maybe I want real photos instead of 5-pixel high icons taken with those camera phones. Too bad I couldn't use my good camera. I did pack it, but soon realized that a heavy, 25-year-old camera with manual controls, no autofocus, and no flash was probably not the most effective piece of equipment for photographing concerts. Especially night ones.

Man, I'm such a geek. Everyone else is like, "Yay, a concert, let's jump around and have fun," and I'm like, "Yay, a concert, now I can take cool photos so I can remember the event that I attended but didn't fully participate in!" Just kidding - I participated. I do find it difficult to jump up & down in one place for very long, especially when wearing sandals. But don't worry, I'm not the one to stand in the second row of an Audio Adrenaline concert and just stare blankly at the band while tapping my foot. I was rather annoyed though, at my stupid need to be carrying something at all times, which sometimes hinders full "participation." Whether a purse, a water bottle, a cell phone, a camera, or all of the above. Just once I should go to a concert and have fun, with nothing in my hands or in my pockets.

So I used the point & shoot camera, and I hope I got at least a few good shots out of it. I won't know for a few days though. See, some people think waiting is the bad thing about using film, because you can't get photos instantaneously, like us Americans have been trained to expect. But I see it as a way to build expectations. By the time the film finally gets back, I'm so excited to see the fruit of my labor that I really don't care if every shot didn't turn out lovely. Mass-production tends to take the art out of things, and I don't want that to happen to MY art.

But I've been over all this before, haven't I? Sorry. I'll blame my repetitiveness on lack of sleep, for now. Which I really should catch up on soon. The vacation is over, and life is calling. And I would much rather throw the covers back over my head for a few moments, thank you.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009