remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Size is only a number [Wednesday, Jun. 28, 2006, 5:28 pm]

I always regret checking out those "menu and nutrition" sections of popular restaurants' websites. Even the places with healthier reputations can serve sandwiches with upwards of 1000 Calories each. Yikes. I think I'll get a salad and iced tea at Panera from now on.

And that leads me right into my little spiel about body image. More than once in the past few months, females I know have implied just how much they wish they wore a smaller size. A teacher says she wishes she was a size 6. A co-worker says she hates "being fat" and that size 6 is her ultimate goal. And these are both women with wonderful, outgoing personalities, loads of confidence, and great conversationalists.

I'll tell you what - I generally wear size 6-8, but for some reason that mere fact hasn't made my social life a bed of roses. Wearing a size 6 has not made me popular, or given me a dynamic personality. It hasn't made me very good at making friends, nor has it garnered me an large amount of attention from the opposite sex. It hasn't made me more confident in myself, or good at public speaking. It was not the cause of my current employment, and as far as I know, no one has ever done anything good for me specifically because I wore a size 6.

The only good things I can think of that this has led to is a lower risk of certain diseases by not being obese, the ability to fit through narrow spaces (well, within reason), and I often don't run out of breath as often as those with weight problems. And that's about it. Really, I'm trying to think of something amazing in my life that has happened because I wear this particular size, and nothing much is coming to mind.

So really, I don't think there's anything to be ashamed of by wearing a larger size clothing. It's really the personality of a person that counts in real life. Even people who wear smaller sizes can be "unpopular" and have very little confidence in themselves. I'm not saying weight loss is a bad thing for everyone - but the goal should be health, not a size 6. It certainly hasn't garnered me a modeling job anywhere.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009