remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

And there's a place where I belong, but there's nothing here I really own... [Saturday, Jun. 24, 2006, 6:26 pm]

I finally just dedicated a day to carrying just about everything out of my room, dusting it off, vacuuming the place out, and putting it back together again. I haven't cleaned to that extent since. . .we moved into the house. About 3 years ago, I think. Eventually my allergies just got so bad that I realized I needed to do something drastic about the dust problem, rather than just vacuuming here & there every 2 weeks. And it was nice to finally get rid of a few things.

I am such a pack rat. Even now I have over 3 containers designated as "odds and ends" holders. Just stuff that may come in handy someday, or some novel things that I'm just not ready to throw away. But I have made progress. I emptied my little wastebasket several times over the course of the day, and I have a whole bag of things to sell/give away. Could you imagine that I still, at age 19, kept Polly Pockets under my bed? No longer. And that I still keep my "American Girl" doll named Addy, in my room - in the same place she's always been?

Well, it's nice to have the extra 2 feet of walking space anyway. I've decided that I like living in a small bedroom. If I had a large room I would just want to fill it with even more stuff that I don't even need. And you know what? When I put things in perspective, I have to realize that I don't own anything at all. It's really just a temporary stewardship. Someday I'll be dead, and whatever I accumulated will belong to someone else. Either that or it will be sent to a museum where people will be able to gaze at it through thick sheets of glass, and marvel at my humble beginnings.

Nah. Most of what I retain is simply kept for sentimental value. That could get in the way, but it still lets me appreciate the value of things that go beyond money. I wouldn't trade my diaries in for any amount of gold. Sometimes I look at things more as pieces of history than tangible objects. And yet, I don't own any of it...

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009