remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I will not fear... or will I? [Tuesday, May. 23, 2006, 11:33 pm]

I don't need to be afraid. Is it just staying up late at night that makes me feel more confident about things? Is that just because no one else is around at this time of night? It's easy to feel dominance over a dim, empty room.

Sometimes it's hard to empathize with people who are doing things you've already done. You can share your experience with them, but it's very difficult to actually put yourself back into that mindset of "not knowing what will happen." Because once you know, you realize it wasn't as bad as it could have been, and - the fear is gone. It's hard to understand what it's like to fear something that you've already gone through.

There's a song I listened to a few days ago. The chorus was this gentle repetition of, "I will not fear. I will not fear the darkness. I will not fear. I will not fear the shadows." It's hard to say that and mean it. But then there's that verse in the book of Joshua (1:9, I believe it is) where God commands him not to be afraid or terrified. Like being commanded to love. It's not about having a feeling.

In fact, sometimes the feeling is exactly what you don't want to have. If you only decide to love others when you feel like it, it will he harder to do so when you don't have the feeling. And sometimes feelings of fear are simply temptations thrown in our way - to cause us to depend on ourselves. I know I do it so many times. I fear things that I already have victory over. I only look at my petty, human side of things.

Trust is an action word. I must learn to apply that to my life...

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009