remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

So maybe I'm not a typical English major... [Wednesday, May. 03, 2006, 7:26 pm]

I decided quite a while ago that although I'm an English major, public school teaching as a career is not on my radar at all - and now I think I'm understanding a bit better why that wouldn't work for me.

I'm too individual-based. It probably has a lot to do with the way I was educated through high school. I generally had a one-on-one education, or at least was taught in a small group of people I knew. So I just can't bring myself to treat a group of children as a collective body. I'm not saying it can't be done - some people are wonderful at keeping large groups of children under control. But my experience in Awana is showing me that I'm not one of them.

It's almost funny how, when there's too much noise, I don't even think to just raise my voice (not that I can really do that anyway) and tell everyone to be quiet - I find myself going to the individual noise-makers and trying to get them to be quiet. And maybe that's not the most effective way, but I'm just not a shouter, and I don't want to yell at everyone when only a few people are responsible. I love small groups, and one-on-one time, but when the number of children severely outnumbers the number of leaders - I feel like I'm treating the kids as a herd, and I'm just not good at that. At least when it comes to teaching.

So there you have it. I don't know what I'm going to "be" when I grow up, but I have several ideas of what I don't want to "be." Maybe that's a pessimistic way to start, but it's something...

*Laura*

Ethel: "Common sense has nothing to do with it. When I say he's wrong, hes wrong."

-I Love Lucy-


wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009