remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Vulnerable [Saturday, Feb. 18, 2006, 4:09 pm]

My cell phone minutes are beginning to disappear at a rate far exceeding their previous rate of disappearance, which was something like 10 minutes per year. And like I said, I'm really not a phone person.

I'm a cautious person, overall. But I shouldn't let that hold me back from taking the occasional necessary risks that come with life. I suppose beginning any kind of relationship, no matter how informal it is, entails some kind of risk. Things could go wrong. Sometimes they do. But we take risks with ourselves this way because we believe that it can be worth it in the end, don't we?

It would seem that giving and receiving love is worth the possible risk of things not working out.
Nothing ventured, nothing gained. That doesn't mean it's okay to take foolish risks - I suppose the trick is to know when it is worth it and when it's just too dangerous.

I think this quote by CS Lewis sums it up rather nicely:

�Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket--safe, dark, motionless, airless--it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable. To love is to be vulnerable.�

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009