remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Hi, my name is Laura. I'm shy. [Thursday, Feb. 16, 2006, 9:31 pm]

Ah, glorious vacation.

I've said I don't like it when people label themselves - you know, goth, emo, prep, skater, punk, etc. But I wonder if I do the same to myself sometimes. Not with a typical teenage stereotypes, but I still call myself things. Like shy. Am I limiting myself by doing that? Do I use it as an excuse to not do things I don't want to do? Well, I can't start conversations with strangers, because, you know, "shy people" don't do that.

It's not that I can't say I'm shy some of the time, because I am. It's the truth. But there's a difference between giving evidence of being shy at times, and completely labelling myself as "shy," - seeing myself like that all the time. As if I'm trying to fool myself into thinking my personality exists inside some little adjective. Or perhaps it's just that I analyze myself too much - never thought of that *rolls eyes*

If I had my way, I would be one of those people that anyone feels they can talk to. But that would take a lot of change on my part - a lot less paranoia, and less reliance upon myself and my own feelings.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009