remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

After the first few weeks of things... [Saturday, Feb. 04, 2006, 11:51 am]

It looks as though I'll actually have one day this semester in which I have no commitments to be anywhere, and that's Saturdays, due to a schedule changing at work! Yay - Saturday has officially been dubbed "homework day" until mid-May. Although I might go to Wal-mart today, but that's because I don't have to start work on either of my 10-page research papers yet.

I'm trying to decide whether I like writing one big long paper better, or several smaller ones. Two of my English classes require a long research paper at the end, while the other requires two 5-6 page papers. On one hand, writing the shorter papers requires less research and time spent on each topic, but with the longer paper, there's only one topic to worry about, and a lot more time to work on it.

I suppose by the end of the semester I'll have a more definite idea of which format I like better.

My American movie class seems to be less a study of major American films and more like, "Let's watch one of the professor's favorite movies each week!" None of them have been horrible yet, so that's good. And to his credit, he did pick Singin' in the Rain as one of them, which won't be for a few months. I think I'm learning more from the book though.

And on Wednesday I printed my first color photo! Well, it was actually a contact sheet, which is easier, but the basic process won't take me long to become comfortable with, because I've worked with black & white for long enough, and there are plenty of similarities.

The hard part is that in color printing, everything has to be pitch black. In a black and white dark room, we can use reddish-colored safe lights, which aren't very bright, but the paper doesn't pick it up, so we can see enough to know where everything is and what we're going. But in color, you have to know where everything is before you turn the lights out or close the door. And once you take your paper out of the box, everything has to be lined up correctly by memory and feel, or else it will come out funny. There's no turning the light on to check. But I'll get used to it.

But the developing is all done by machine, so in that sense it's a lot easier than black & white. So it should be a fun class. I might even get to spend less than $300 on photo supplies, for one semester. That would be cool.

Okay, sorry, I'll try not to do another entry like this for a while - I'm sure that talk of nothing but my own class details becomes tedious for everyone else.

*Laura*


Rain
Lord, we thirst for water
Rain
We are desert land
Rain
On your sons and daughters
Rain
Bring your rain again

-Day of fire-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009