remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Oscar noms, and school [Thursday, Feb. 02, 2006, 5:28 pm]


I really am a hypocrite when it comes to the Oscars. On the surface, it's a stupid, pointless ceremony, and there's such an incredibly narrow group of films that end up getting nominated anyway. Why bother with nominations at all? Just vote for anything. How can you select the best picture of the year out of only five? Who votes on this stuff anyway? A lot of the time I don't really consider winning an Oscar a mark of anything except popularity.

On the other hand, when a film I really really like wins something, all of a sudden it means it's the greatest film ever, as the Oscar obviously indicates. Return of the King is one of the greatest films ever because it won so many Oscars. Of course, Titanic did too, but that doesn't mean anything.

In other news, I visited the University of Southern Maine today. It's huge compared to the little place I'm attending now. It has an indoor track and huge cafeteria & all that jazz. So I'll have to visit UMO too before I decide anything. I have a feeling my decision will be based more on financial aid than anything. Gee, I thought I was finished with all these college decisions 2 years ago, but it doesn't end.

It will be good for me to live on campus, I'm sure, even though it will be quite a change. I don't want the extra temptation to be two-faced, or become a recluse. Sometimes it seems like those are the only options, but I know it's possible to be an open, caring person without selling out or alienating other people. Boy, that's something I need to work on. It's not about me at all - I just get deceived into thinking it is sometimes.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009