remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Now it snows [Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2006, 1:52 pm]

My school certainly has an odd sense of what constitutes severe weather. First off, you must note that I attend a community college which has never been equipped with dorms. Therefore, everyone who attends, teaches, or works there must drive in every day, and some drive quite a ways. And due to the fact that we live in a state that is known for it's cold and snowy winters, it's not surprising that an occasional snow day is in order.

I don't know exactly whose job it is to decide when to call off classes for a day, but whoever they are, they apparently don't live in the area. Last week I found out that classes were cancelled until noon on a day that produced nothing but rain. That didn't affect any of my classes, but I find it somewhat embarrassing that people in a state as tough as Maine would call off classes because of rain, considering all the other forms of precipitation we have been known to put up with. Of course, this was done because they were afraid it would turn to freezing rain later, but of course, it didn't.

And then, this week it began to snow on Monday, a little before 9 a.m. My 10 a.m. class wasn't affected, but I stayed on campus because I had another at 4. And as it continued to snow, I would call the cancellation line to see if there were any developments, but no. It essentially snowed all day, and yet classes weren't called off. Only around 6 people (including me) showed up for my photography class, which is supposed to contain around 14 students. As the teacher later implied, "they didn't cancel classes today, although I don't know what the heck they're waiting for!"

It's been snowing pretty much all day, and the campus is still open, as far as I know. One of my classes has been cancelled, but it was by the professor and not the school. So I really don't know whose business it is to declare snow days at this college, but whoever they are, their method of determining inclement weather clearly does not involve looking out the window!

Not that I mind driving in the snow, I just felt the need to point out the inconsistencies of these odd decisions. I also find it somewhat funny, but it really wouldn't be if someone ended up injured in an accident in this weather. Oh well - I'll drive carefully.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009