remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The remembered stories [Saturday, Jan. 07, 2006, 6:03 pm]

Ugh. If God made you a male, get down on your knees and thank him for sparing you. Do it; right now. Yeah, I'm okay, really. It's just that I'm used to being rather even-tempered, so when my body decides it wants to make me moody, I don't like it very much.

Well, I suppose other than that, there isn't a whole lot to say. I've been trying to keep somewhat busy during break, but I'm enjoying the final week or so until I go back to school again. I've been reading "An American Tragedy" lately, and it's another one of those 800-page tomes. It's rather sad, because I know how the story culminates.

I find it interesting how so many of the novels which have defined American literature cover topics that are so sad and uncomfortable (The Jungle, Uncle Tom's Cabin, The Grapes of Wrath, to Kill a Mockingbird, etc.) But that's probably why they became popular in their day - they may seem tamer nowadays in hindsight, but they covered things that had never been covered that way before - and that's why the topics were often uncomfortable - no one else had written about them in the same way before.

Sometimes I wonder what it would take to write such a groundbreaking novel nowadays - it seems no subject is taboo anymore, but at the same time I know it's possible to write in ways people aren't expecting - from perspectives that aren't normally used, without being dirty. It sure wouldn't be easy though.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009