remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Kong [Saturday, Dec. 17, 2005, 7:41 pm]

So King Kong was interesting. Peter Jackson is certainly not one for brevity. I have to say though, the 3-hour format really didn't seem to work as well for this movie. The plot just didn't seem to make up its mind on what it wanted to be. It started out as a period drama (attempted rather - I thought it felt way too modern), then became a seafaring film, transitioned into some terrifying Indiana-Jonesish thing, then suddenly turned into Jurassic park, became a love story, then an action film, and that's how it ended.

I was very impressed with the special effects though - it's getting to the point where special effects really don't seem that "special" anymore - they're just part of the movie. But Kong was amazing - he looked, moved, and acted just like I would have expected a real giant gorilla to.

I don't know, I just thought the central plot-line became too clouded with all the other stuff going on. But go see it for its epic nature anyway - even if all you want to see is Andy Serkis getting sucked up by a bunch of giant slug-things with teeth.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009