remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Coffee [Sunday, Dec. 04, 2005, 1:49 pm]

I have never understood the dependency that some Americans have upon coffee. Perhaps I simply feel that way because I don't share the addiction.

But a case in point would be the Awana leader's conference I attended a few months ago. When the people showed up at the church to car pool, about half of them were holding their coffee in styrofoam cups or stainless steel travel mugs. By the time we arrived at the conference about an hour & a half later, there was more coffee provided by the church throughout the day. On the way home, we stopped once again so people could buy more coffee for the drive.

Can you imagine how much money people spend on that stuff in the course of one week, when they consume it at that rate? Maybe some people were started on the habit when they were younger. I'll admit, it can be nice to wake up to the smell of coffee.

But I get annoyed when some of these people question how others manage to wake up or get through the day without multiple cups of coffee. Well, it's really not that hard. The key is to just not become dependent on it in the first place. Actually, maybe it's harder for some people than others.

It's not that I see anything wrong with coffee in itself. I understand that some people like hot drinks when it's cold, and I think it tastes pretty good myself. I just don't think it's a good idea to develop that kind of a dependency on any kind of food or drink. Even drinking it every day doesn't have to be a bad thing, but I'm just surprised at the ridiculous levels that people allow this addiction to reach. I guess I just don't know what I'm missing out on ;-)

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009