remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Something else I don't want for Christmas [Tuesday, Nov. 08, 2005, 6:45 pm]

Along the lines of stupid Christmas gifts...

I hope I'm not the only one who thinks this whole thing about "buying a star" for someone is ridiculous. Yeah, buying a star. See, some people in my history class seemed to think that it was arrogant and wrong for the European explorers to land on American soil and claim the land as their own, even when it was already in use by the natives. I don't think it's any less arrogant to point to a little dot in the sky and say "that's mine!" We think we can buy and sell such things. Yes, only in America.

Also along the lines of buying (but hopefully this is a little less ridiculous), a few days ago I purchased my ticket to see "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe." I was very disappointed to find that there was no midnight showing. The earliest one they had was at 1 p.m. on the Friday it comes out, which I couldn't attend due to work. So I had to settle for 10:30 p.m. that night, even though I have to work early the next morning. It'll be worth it. There's only one opening day.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009