remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Male scientists are just too logical? [Wednesday, Sept. 28, 2005, 2:08 pm]

Okay, so something was briefly mentioned in chemistry class, oh, probably last week that kinda surprised me at the time - I just thought it was odd. Basically, according to my professor, some feminists are against the current "scientific method" (you know, observations, hypothesis, theory, law, etc.) because it was invented at a time when 99% of the scientists were male, and therefore is a product of a more logically-based male brain, and therefore, biased.

Wow, so will the next step be to methodically evaluate every process or idea in history to find out how many females were involved in creating it, and then disregard it if the percentage of females involved is less than 50%? I don't know how others feel about this, but personally it made me laugh. Although I tried not to actually do it in class.

Nothing was mentioned, however, about what the new feminist sceintific method would incorporate (I assume "feelings" will be in there somewhere, since logic is apparently too male), and therefore I feel it is my duty to give these poor feminists a little head start on their draft of this new scientific method:

1. Observations of phenomena. Look, listen, and feel, and it may also help to record your findings, but for heaven sakes, don't make the process too logical. Just write whatever you feel like.

2. Formulation of a hypothesis to explain the phenomena. Call up all of your girl friends and compare notes until you can come up with something that everyone agrees on.

3. Use the hypothesis to predict what will happen next. If it doesn't happen that way, think up another hypothesis. If it still doesn't work the way you want it to, have a good cry (and call your girl friends again if it helps).

4. Publish your results and perform many, properly executed experiments (as in, wearing rubber gloves at all times) to try to get the data to fit your hypothesis. Whoops, I mean your hypothesis to fit the data. Seriously take into consideration other ideas that people may have regarding your hypotheses - unless, of course, they come from white Christian males.

5. If nobody has any objections, declare the hypothesis a "theory." Plan a "theory party" and call all your girl friends over to celebrate.

Okay, so I hope you realize I'm being extremely sarcastic here. I just thought it was a ridiculous idea, and I certainly have nothing against female scientists. Gee, everything needs a disclaimer these days.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009