remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Family affairs [Saturday, Jul. 02, 2005, 1:52 pm]

So my Aunt & Uncle and cousins from Texas came today. I've never met them before, except my Uncle who I saw maybe 10 years ago. I confess, I expected them all to have Texan accents, but none of them did, probably because my Uncle was raised in Maine, and my Aunt in Taiwan. And another Uncle is coming up for the weekend, so all the children on my dad's side of the family will be together for the first time in maybe 15 years.

Tomorrow we're having a big "family reunion BBQ" in celebration of my Grandparents' 50th anniversary. It's actually their 49th, but we won't all be together again for who knows how long, so why wait?

I think it's so cool that there are still people who stay married that long. One thing I notice is that one of the most important things is to be good friends with the person you marry, before you get all romantic about things. Someday friendship may be all that's left, but as long as you have that then you should be all set.

My Aunt is very interested in good bargains. Before they came, she sent us 6 boxes of used videos, stuffed animals, and things she found at yard sales. We didn't keep everything, but it was very nice. Apparently she fled China as a child, so I wonder if she didn't have much money then, and so values it more than others. Kind of like people who lived through the Great Depression, and always saved things after that, even when they had money again.

Anyway, I'm out for now. I'll try to write more interestingly later, but I find it harder to do that when I'm downstairs or at school. In some ways it's probably good for me that my computer isn't working, because I'm not online for hours on end, but I found it easier to have privacy on the laptop. *sigh*

*Laura*

"Even the smallest person can change the course of the future."

-Galadriel-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009