remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I'm not getting paid for this [Sunday, Jun. 19, 2005, 4:49 pm]

Yesterday I went to a book sale at the library, and ended up with some pretty good loot for only $1. First off, I got some Joe Franklin entertainment trivia book. I know hardly any of the answers, but I found out that amongst the 60-something categories there was one on the Marx brothers - the only one I aced ;-)

I also got a book called "The King of Torts" by John Grisham. I've never read anything of his before, but I've heard that's a good book and it was only 50 cents, so I'll have to start reading it soon and find out.

But the best deal was a National Geographic Photography Field Guide. It has some awesome photos and tips in it, and even better, its retail price was $25, and I got it for 25 cents.

Speaking of photography, I've been doing a lot of it lately, but it's so much more expensive this way, since I'm using color film. I would be doing more black and white, but the photo lab is closed for the summer, so I would have a million rolls to develop in September if I'd been using a lot of that. I think both black & white and color have their pros & cons, so there's certainly no harm in getting more practice in color. My prof said we should try to average 3 rolls a week during summer - I'm doing maybe 2 at most, because I don't want to go broke.

And speaking of reading, I'm glad I've had the time and motivation to do some pleasure reading this summer. I once heard that college students read the fewest books of any other group, which makes sense because we have so much more to do. The sad part is, once I begin doing something out of obligation, it tends to take the enjoyment out of it. I'm almost afraid that studying novels and having to read them for school will take the joy out of doing it on my own - even if I love the books. Just like cooking - I used to cook a whole lot more before I started having to do it 3 times a week at work. I've also heard that getting paid for something takes the joy out of it too, for some people. If that's the case for me, then maybe I don't want to become a paid photographer or writer. Hmmm...

*Laura*

"Maybe I understand, some, about having to fight. So you just remember who you are... you're the Bulldog of Burgon, and the Pride of New Jersey, you're everybody's hope, and the kid's hero, and you are the champion of my heart, James J. Braddock."

-Mae Braddock, Cinderella Man-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009