remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I miss those musicals [Thursday, Jun. 09, 2005, 7:09 pm]

Last night I watched a PBS special on Gene Kelly, and wow, he was definitely one of the most amazing dancers ever. I wish I could dance like him, but I stopped dance lessons when I was about 6, so there goes any hope of my getting into Hollywood.

Is it just me, or does it require MUCH less talent to be an actor nowadays than it did back then? I mean, the days of MGM musicals included some of the most talented dancers and singers in American history, and in order to make it big, most of them did much more than just act. Movies nowadays still rely on talent, but unfortunately more of it comes from the special effects deparment than the actors' abilities.

That's one reason why I miss musicals. How many "triple threats" are there in Hollywood now? Now you don't even need to be able to act well, as long as you can act fake. In fact, in some cases all you really need to do is be good-looking. Looking at someone like Fred Astaire, for instance: he wasn't really (in my opinion) one of the best-looking actors out there, but who cares if he could dance the way he did?

Personally I like entertainment that represents hard work on the part of the performers. Somehow displaying incredible dance moves and rhythm is more impressive to me than sitting in front of a computer and creating explosions, as exciting as that can be when it adds something to a movie.

*Laura*

"Why can't they just say, 'go to this place, here's your treasure, spend it wisely'?"

-Riley Poole, National Treasure-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009