remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I'd much rather peel potatoes, thanks [Wednesday, Jun. 08, 2005, 7:43 pm]


I had to waitress again today. Ordinarily that would be just plain annoying, but there was good in it. It looks like I'll end up with over 20 hours this week, so that's awesome. Plus I made over $18 in tips in 5 hours, which is far more than I've ever made before. See, usually we have to split the tips between the waitress and the cook (probably because the jobs are often mixed), but the cook on Wednesdays is really nice and gives everything to the waitress - me, in this case. I have to do it next Wednesday too.

I honestly think I could get used to it if I started doing it every day. But I do it so sporadically that it's hard to make it into a routine - I keep forgetting little things that I probably wouldn't if I became more experienced. Another problem is that waitressing involves initiative - which I have very little of. It's one thing to be a cashier and just let the customers come to you. But when I waitress I have to take the initiative and approach them, and then bring things out to them, and that's just not very natural to me.

Well, aside from all that. I rented "Monty Python and the Holy Grail" a few days ago (I've watched it before). And I finally figured out something about VeggieTales. Has anyone seen the episode called "Josh and the big wall"? (it's about Joshua and Jericho). Well, I finally realized that it was a take-off from Monty Python, with the French-accented peas on the top of the wall taunting the guys below, just like the "French" guys taunted King Arthur. I can't believe it took me so long to realize where that came from. I mean, the Gilligan's Island episode they did was obvious, but this one I just never realized until now.

*Laura*

"Thanks for noticing me."

-Eeyore-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009